Gen One: Chapter Eighteen – Two Weddings And A Birth

After months of meticulous planning the day was finally approaching. I had published my latest book, Candy had moved into my house, and had helped me teach Praline to walk, and now the day was approaching where we would be married, and we couldn’t have been happier.

There was only one small problem.

“What do you mean Pumpkin and Candy have chosen the same date? We’ve been planning this for months!”

I was on the phone with Blueberry, who had called the morning she received our invitation.

“Pumpkin had been planning it a little longer, and they chose the church on Almond Drive.”

“But that’s the best church in Sugar Valley.”

“Yeah, and pretty much the only one for Berry devotee’s in two counties. You’re either going to have to change the date, or find another church.”

“What about the one down by the beach?”

“Well I guess they’ll allow a wedding for us this once. The owners owe me a favour.”

I was amazed to find how deeply Blueberry held sway over some places in Sugar Valley, I guess when you grow up in a place people get to know you, and you tend to get a lot of influence.

“I’ll have a talk with Rhubarb, Karmel. You just hold tight. You’ll get your wedding.”

“What about the reception? Half the people i’ve invited won’t come because of Pumpkin’s wedding.”

“What about a joint reception? You could have it up at that gorgeous park near the top of the mountain. There’s a lake and everything. Could be perfect for all four of you.”

“I guess. I’ll call the council and see what I can do about booking the park.”

“And I’ll call Rhubarb. Rest easy Karmel, you still have a week.”

“A week and I have no church, practically no guests, and no place for the reception…Yeah Blueberry, i’ll rest easy for sure.”

“Goodbye Karmel.”

I put the phone away and sighed. Half a year of planning ruined because Blueberry’s brother wanted to get married the same day. If we could work around it everything would go perfectly.

Moving to the kitchen I pulled out the ingredients for that nights dinner. Candy would be coming home with Praline any moment now, and since I had more cooking experience than her I decided it would be nice for me to cook dinner at least once.

Candy had decided that she wanted to be a chef, and had been taking cooking classes. Afterwards she would take Praline to the park while I worked on my books. With the newest one finished I had a lot of spare time, which meant I could spend time with both of my girls without being so stressed about so many things at once.

Just as I had begun spooning the soup into bowls I heard the front door close.

“Karmel! We’re home!” Candy’s voice broke the silence of the room, and I smiled slightly.

“In the kitchen!” I called back, placing the bowls on the benches, and a bowl of mashed up potato and gravy on Praline’s high chair.

Candy came into the room, smiling like she had won a million simoleons. She placed Praline in her high chair, who immediately squealed with happiness.

“TAY-TOTSH!” I couldn’t help but laugh, and grinning I turned to my daughter.

“Yep, and there’s more if you eat it all.”

“Oday!” She began shovelling the potato into her mouth without even bothering with the spoon I had set down for her. Candy had begun eating the soup, and was watching me curiously.

“Something’s wrong.”

I looked up, putting on a smile, “nothing is wrong, Candy.”

“Then what’s with the crease on your forehead?”

“It’s a wrinkle, I’m turning into an old man, you know.”

She laughed, but then gave me a serious stare. “Karmel.”

“The church we wanted is booked on the day of our wedding.”

“Ah. Who by?”

“Pumpkin.”

“Well that explains the lack of RSVP’s we got.” She sighed, and I could feel the disappointment.

“We don’t need a big wedding, you know.”

“I know, something small would be nice, but I’ve always envisioned a big beautiful wedding, like most girls, you know?”

“Yeah. We can do the small wedding with big effort though. I spoke to Blueberry and she suggested we have a joint reception with Pumpkin.”

“That’s not a bad idea.”

“Yeah, I thought so.”

I let the conversation lay then, and after eating dinner it had been all but forgotten. I got onto Pumpkin the next day and he agreed that a joint reception would be perfect, and apologised for booking the church. I also got a call from Blueberry, who said that the other church was booked solid, so Candy and I would have to work something out.

And we did, the day before our wedding we called the guests who had RSVP’d, and told them that the wedding wouldn’t be a big show, and to just go to the reception. While Pumpkin was marrying Fairy, Candy and I went to City Hall and just had a quick wedding performed by a Justice of The Peace. Afterwards we rushed home and changed into proper attire.

“You look stunning, Mrs. Mulberry.”

“As do you, Mr. Mulberry…Now let’s get to that reception.”

We arrived at the reception the same time as Pumpkin and Fairy did, I hugged him with a grin.

“Well, you’re finally a married man.”

“Yep, you’ll have to give me advice.”

I rose an eyebrow before laughing, “Trust me, my advice wouldn’t do anything for you, man.”

He laughed as well and the four of us took steps toward the revelry further in the park. When we turned a corner we found the source of the noise, and everyone began clapping. Candy was giggling as she held onto my arm and I squeezed her hand gently.

The reception went off pretty well, there was food, drinks, dancing and all of our friends, so everyone was having a wonderful time until Blueberry came over to congratulate Candy and I.

“Hey guys.”

“Hey!” I pulled her into a hug, “You look like you’re about to pop.”

“I’m a few days overdue, so it actually wasn’t a great idea to come here tonight, but I wasn’t going to miss this for anything.”

“I wouldn’t either.” Candy laughed.

“I just wanted to come over and say congratulations. And Karmel did a good job of following my advice.” She grinned and I blushed, looking away, “anyway I should go back to-”

She froze, her eyes widening.

“Blueberry, are you alrig-”

“My water just broke.”

After that all hell broke loose. I found Everton and told him what had happened, he in turn found Pumpkin and told him. Before long six of us had squeezed into a car and were rushing to the hospital.

“You guys wait out here, with her being overdue this shouldn’t take long…Karmel…you want to help?”

“I…” I smiled in thanks but shook my head, “nah, I’ll get a chance soon enough.” I glanced at Candy, who blushed. She was just beginning to show, and we hadn’t told anyone yet, we didn’t want it to get in the way of the weddings.

Everton grinned and nodded, leaving us to sit around and wait while we heard the screams of Blueberry having her baby.

After three hours of screaming Everton came out of the room.

“Well I said it would be quick, and it was.”

We all looked up expectantly and he grinned broadly.

“It’s a girl.”

We said our congratulations to Everton, and told him we’d be by shortly to see the baby and then we left, heading home and back to Praline, who had been left with Cola Pop’s son, R.C.

The moment we walked through the door I heard Praline’s happy squeals.

“DAH-DEE! MAMEE!” Laughing Candy rushed to the little girl and swung her in her arms.

“Yes, baby girl. I’m finally your mommy.”

8 thoughts on “Gen One: Chapter Eighteen – Two Weddings And A Birth

  1. I had realized Blueberry was pregnant for an awfully long time, so I determined the reception would be a good time 🙂 That and I wanted people to sit around in their wedding attire XD

    Praline is great! 😀 her birthday is in… *locates her notebook and checks* 2 chapters :3 There’s something to look forward to :p Cute child Praline ❤

Leave a comment